Victors and vanquished following Sunday’s Cup race at COTA

William Byron Wins NASCAR Cup Race at Circuit of the Americas; Michael McDowell, Noah Gragson and Harrison Burton Struggle

The Cup race at Circuit of the Americas saw both victories and defeats. William Byron emerged as the winner, earning his second victory of the season and becoming the first driver to win two races in three consecutive years. He also holds the record for the most wins in the Next Gen car since its introduction in 2022. Christopher Bell finished as the runner-up, securing his fourth top-10 finish of the season. Ty Gibbs came in third place, marking his fifth consecutive top-10 finish and moving up to second in the season standings. Alex Bowman and Kyle Busch also had impressive performances, finishing fourth and ninth respectively.

However, there were some losers from this race. Michael McDowell had a disappointing finish of 38th due to power steering failure, which marks the second time this season he has finished 35th or worse. Noah Gragson finished in 34th place, continuing a trend of poor performances in multiple races this season. Harrison Burton finished in 30th place, with five finishes outside the top 27 in six races.

It is worth noting that Justin Haley’s car was disqualified after post-race inspection, which did not update Michael McDowell, Noah Gragson, and Harrison Burton’s finishing positions originally.


As a content writer at, I am Samantha Johnson—a wordsmith with a fervent love for storytelling and a keen eye for captivating readers. With a diverse background in journalism and digital marketing, I craft compelling narratives that engage, inform, and inspire our audience. Whether unraveling breaking news stories or delving into thought-provoking features, my aim is to deliver content that resonates and leaves a lasting impact. Join me on a journey through the ever-evolving landscape of news and narratives at