Fortum’s Board Composition Decided at General Meeting

Fortum elects new board members and announces share acquisition authorization at annual general meeting

Fortum, a leading energy company, held its annual general meeting and elected nine individuals to the board. Mikael Silvennoinen was named chairman, Essimari Kairisto as vice-president, and Ralf Christian, Luisa Delgado, Jonas Gustavsson, Marita Niemelä, Prank Paavola, Johan Söderström, and Vesa-Pekka Takala as members of the board. The state had previously announced that it would be vacating its seat on the board when Maia Strandberg left his position.

During the meeting, discharge from liability for the 2023 financial year was granted to all board members and the CEO. A dividend of EUR 1.15 per share was approved, and the board was authorized to decide on the acquisition of its own shares. This authorization allowed for a maximum of 20 million shares to be acquired and transferred.

The decision to acquire shares revoked an earlier acquisition authorization that had been granted at Fortum’s annual general meeting in 2023. With these changes in place, Fortum is well-positioned to continue delivering value for its shareholders while also contributing to sustainable energy solutions across the globe.


As a content writer at, I am Samantha Johnson—a wordsmith with a fervent love for storytelling and a keen eye for captivating readers. With a diverse background in journalism and digital marketing, I craft compelling narratives that engage, inform, and inspire our audience. Whether unraveling breaking news stories or delving into thought-provoking features, my aim is to deliver content that resonates and leaves a lasting impact. Join me on a journey through the ever-evolving landscape of news and narratives at